I am a writer…

I am a writer…Hear me roar

It took me a long time to comprehend what this truly meant. I published books when I was a child so I was already an ‘author’, but was I a writer?

For a long time, I didn’t write due to setting up a business and other excuses. I missed it. I didn’t realise how much I had missed it until I started to actively write again. I realised all the excuses standing in my way were actually just mental blocks: I felt that writing was ‘just for me’, a fun activity and so it should be last on the to-do-list. That meant I never got to do it. Then I had the opportunity to join a writing collaboration effort and I was forced to write more. I realised how wrong I had been.

Yes, writing is for me and fun but it is also a vital part of who I am. I need to write and I love it when I do. I am a writer at heart. I love expressing my ideas and when I am in the ‘writing zone’ the world just falls away. This can be scary when there are work deadlines to meet but it is rewarding too. I still have to force myself to just start writing sometimes but once that first sentence is written, I am transported to my own world: The world of writing.

This passion, this craving, this unending need to write is what makes me a writer. It is not about being an author and being published or even if anyone ever reads my writing. I write for me. I write because I need to, love to and want to.

I write because I am a writer.

Leave a Reply

